Help installing Elixir on Linux Mint

I’m a beginner, using Linux MInt 18.3 Cinnamon. I installed elixir with apt, but it only found version 1.1, and I’d like to use the newest version, but I have been having trouble. From memory here is what happened:

Tried to install elixir 1.8.2 from source. Got error about Erlang (I had version 18).
Installed Erlang 22. Got an error trying to install Elixir.
Installed Erlang 20. Got an error installing Elixir about being compiled in a different version of Erlang. optcode 150-something, but used optcode 168.
Installed Version 21. Same error - only have up to optcode 163, but need up to 168.
Read some github entry which suggest that an error was fixed after 21.0.
Installed 21.1. Crashed, at some make file recipe for targe erlang failed.
Installed 21.2. Crashed, makefile 64: recipe for target erlang failed.

Not sure if its relevant, but I noticed that erlang --version returns command not found: erlang.

Can anyone suggest for me a combination of elixir version and erlang version that should work together? Or help me resolve this problem another way?

I’ve been using Erlang OTP.

This seems to be quite a lot of trying. Can you please remove all of your installation attempts?

Then it’s probably easiest to switch to Arch Linux :wink: or just use a toolset manager like asdf-vm. It will be able to install, run and change appropriate version sets as you specify them per project.

Also in the official documentation there is a compatibility matrix that tells you which version of elixir is known to work with which version of Erlang.

Just remember that the runtime version of Erlang needs to be equal to or greater than the version used for compiling.

1 Like

Installing Elixir on Linux (with asdf)

2 Likes

Thanks for the replies.

I tried asdf as well but was struggling to get it to find the newest version. I hadn’t seen this link so I will try again.