Help setting up my first LiveView (Component?)

I am brand new to LiveView, and I think it’s a fit for the problem I am trying to solve. I just went through the free portion of the Pragmatic Studios new course (Phoenix LiveView Free Course | The Pragmatic Studio) which is really good, but it seems like everything until the very last course is aimed at a self-contained LiveView application.

I need to do something a little different.

I have attached a diagram for clarity.

Let’s assume I have a list of cars, and that I am using bootstrap to set up my app. I would like to edit the details of each car when I click on it. I would like to have the edit form inside the modal’s content. When I click on the car link, the modal would need to be re-rendered as a form with that car’s content.

My questions are:

• Should the form inside the modal be a live view component? Is this how I render this?
  • Can I send a message to that component from the car link to tell the component to grab the data from the selected car?
  • Am I on the right track with this?

Thanks!

1 Like

Yes, assuming you are pushing a patch to the url push_patch(socket, to: Routes.cars_path(socket, :edit, id))

Then in handle_params/3

def handle_params(params, _uri, socket) do
    {:noreply, apply_action(socket, socket.assigns.live_action, params)}
  end

defp apply_action(socket, :edit, %{"id" => id}) do
    case Cars.get(id) do
      {:ok, car} ->
        socket
        |> assign(:car, car)

_error ->
        socket
        |> put_flash(:error, "error message here"))
        |> push_patch(to: Routes.live_path(socket, __MODULE__))
    end
  end

Then you can place the component inside your live_view as:

<%= if @live_action == :edit do %>
    <%= live_modal @socket, __MODULE__.FormComponent,
          id: @car.id,
          action: @live_action,
          car: @car,
          return_to: Routes.live_path(@socket, __MODULE__) %>
  <% end %>