How can I build a CSV Parser without any libraries?

Hello,

I have been tasked to design and build a module/function that parses
a CSV file and applies a 2-arity Fun, record by record. I don’t really know where to start, as I have never done this before.

I normally just use the phoenix command, and libraries to handle any sort of Parser. Any ideas as to where i could start, or perhaps a guide that I can follow along?

Personally I feel like the imposter Syndrome is kicking in, because it seems so hard for somehting to simple. As a newer Elixir developer this is a bit challenging.

Before the conversation gets too far, can you explain why you wouldn’t use a library?

The professor strictly said NO to libraries for the purpose of creating a new parser and not using an existing one.

Is it a really tough thing to build and test?

I honestly don’t know because I have not done it as of yet. I am looking for resources and where to began.

You should just check the RFC (or a guide) for the CSV format then.

I’d do only 2 things:

1. Parse each line at the , separator. Look at String.split/1.
  2. …but not if the string where the , is located is surrounded by " (double quotes)

For an assignment that should be quite enough.

Yes this link this was given as a resource.

I am just not understand the assignment.

Lets say the CSV file looked like this

1. [Tom, 28, Florida]
  2. [Dick, 42, Kansas]
  3. [Harry, 69, Nebraska]

In essence I am to loop through the arrays and separate the commas and reprint the array?
Also what is meant by “applies a 2-arity Fun” It takes two arguments if one argument is a CSV file whats the other one and array?

1 Like

@Davy_Jones_Locker The best way to start working on a problem where you don’t know the answer is to break it down into pieces, and work on each piece one at a time. To “Parse a CSV” file you need to:

1. Read a file into a string
  2. Split that string by line into a list of strings
  3. Split each line by commas (roughly).