How could I speed up the code

I have a code for generating a list of possible combinations. It is working fine with less than 11 digits but after 11 it gets very slow sometimes even freezes my computer. I would like to generate a very large collection of combinations. I am new to elixir.
Heres the code

def calculate_permutations(data) do
    permute(String.codepoints(data), "")
  end

def permute(list, locked_el) when length(list) > 2 do
    Enum.flat_map(list,
      &(permute(List.delete(list, &1), locked_el <> &1))
    )
  end

def permute(list, locked_el) do
    [
      locked_el <> Enum.at(list, 0) <> Enum.at(list, 1),
      locked_el <> Enum.at(list, 1) <> Enum.at(list, 0)
    ]
  end

When working with large datasets the Stream module is faster. Looking at your code you’re using Enum.flat_map which is a greedy operation meaning that it immediately returns the result. You’re also calling List.delete on every item being passed to the function.

So if you have a list containing 11 digits List.delete is called 11 times for every single element. The more elements in a list the longer it takes to enumerate. That’s most likely your bottleneck. You probably need to learn more about recursion and pattern matching.

I cleaned up your code a bit using Stream and pattern matching. Stream is a lazy operation and will return the result at the end.

def calculate_permutations(data) do
    data
    |> String.codepoints()
    |> permute("")
  end

def permute(list, locked_el) when length(list) > 2 do
    Stream.flat_map(list, &permute(List.delete(list, &1), locked_el <> &1))
    |> Enum.to_list()
  end

def permute(list, locked_el) do
    [first, last] = list
    p1 = "#{locked_el}#{first}#{last}"
    p2 = "#{locked_el}#{last}#{first}"
    [p1, p2]
  end
2 Likes