How do you approach long-term maintainability

Let me start off by giving a little background on myself just to set the context a bit …

I’ve been doing software development for almost 15+ years professionally. And probably 10+ years before that. A long time. I love building software and and learning languages. I’ve worked on applications ranging from “Enterprise” to “Startup.” And almost every application I’ve encountered is architected incredibly different (especially modern day “serverless” or “microservice” based patterns).

I come from a C# world. C# is a strongly typed language and I’ve used it for a long long time. I picked up Ruby as my first dynamic language and fell in love with it instantly. Obviously the two languages are incredibly different and the beauty of the Ruby language and the speed at which you can develop was an amazing change coming from the verbose world of C# (at the time it was like C# 3.0).

Eventually I found Node and Javascript and build some front-end and back-end tools using those as well. I’ve built many things using express, koa, react, vue, etc. I’ve leveraged Typescript and the benefits of the type system on top of Javascript. And I’ve explored Go as well.

I also discovered Erlang and Elixir along the way although I’ve never used them in a “professional” setting. Mostly just for personal projects. I love the benefits of functional programming. The Beam/OTP are absolutely amazing. And I think Phoenix and Ecto and some of the core utilities in the Elixir community are absolutely phenomenal. I absolutely love my personal projects that I’ve built with Elixir.

At this point, it feels like I’m humble bragging a bit and I don’t mean to come across like that. So let me move on to the point. I know this is highly subjective, but here we go …