How do you control LiveView elements visibility from BOTH server-side and frontend

Hi all

I am still learning Elixir, Phoenix and LiveView. I love the way I can describe the state in my LiveView and it is automagically rendered in frontend. However, right now I am playing with the features where latency happens to be quite important in a couple of places.

I am implementing a tiny sound recorder and I’d really like to hide the “start recording” microphone button ASAP, before the LiveView on server side reacts - so that user wouldn’t click it second time, also fast UI responsiveness looks nice.

Well, that’s where JS module comes into play and I can easily and quickly hide the button with this:

<button
      id="microphone-button"
      class={[
        "fixed bottom-3 ...",
        microphone_button_should_be_visible?(@recording_state) || "hidden"
        ]}
      phx-click={microphone_clicked_js()}
    >

def microphone_button_should_be_visible?(recording_state) do
    recording_state == nil || recording_state == :ready
  end

def microphone_clicked_js(js \\ %JS{}) do
    js
    |> JS.push("microphone_clicked")
    |> JS.add_class("hidden", to: "#microphone-button")
end

As you see I have microphone_button_should_be_visible? function for server side to compute when button should be visible, but since I am pretty sure it is to be hidden on click, I speculatively add hidden class for it not waiting for server side to react.

Unhiding problem
Problem happens when the recording is done and I want to show the microphone button again, so user could initiate the next recording session. My live view correctly sets recording_state assign (I verified it) and microphone_button_should_be_visible? should work correctly, but button never appears unless I use JS to remove “hidden” class.

Could somebody, please, help me understand what’s happening here?