How do you shorten your feedback loops with Livebook? (data scientists not allowed)

(Just kidding :wink: you’re more than welcome, dear data scientist)

I’m trying to find an angle to a presentation I’ll be giving at FOSDEM in a few weeks. Reading up on the origin of Livebook, I see a lot of the initial momentum is coming from this paper that explores the current state of computational notebooks and what’s missing.

I think it’s fascinating and brings a lot of value. But… I’m not a data scientist. Still, I do find a lot of value in Livebook, and I use it as often as I can. My angle is more from a software-building perspective. The value for me comes more from getting feedback as fast as possible, because a notebook allows you to start from the middle, where most risk usually lives. That’s the side I like to hint at when talking about Livebook, and trying to show people why they might also be interested.

I’m not sure what I want to discuss here. Maybe I’m just trying to find some encouragement about the fact that Livebook is not only about data science (wrangling data, doing cool ML stuff, making fancy scientific graphs, etc.), but is also a great tool in our toolbox to create actual working software. Sharing code, documenting it, and exploring alternatives while we’re working in non-sciency domains. Some testimonies about people using Livebook in a similar software engineery way could spark inspiration, and validate my ideas.

Maybe my main question is whether these ideas I’m expressing here still fit in how Livebook is conceived? At the same time, I experience what I experience: Livebook helps me create better software, and tackle problems at the right place, doing high-risk stuff first.

I’d be perfectly ok if this stays a monologue, and tumbleweed silently rolls by. But I’d be just as appreciative for anyone willing to share how they use Livebook in a similar fashion.

1 Like