How does Elixir compare to C#?

I am relatively new to programming. I have been trying to understand programming for quite a while and think I have got the idea. The next step for me is to identify a good programming language that I can spend time studying deeply. Of course, I will learn new languages later on based on what I want to achieve. But what I’d like to know is: which language should I start with?

I have boiled down my choices to C# and Elixir. C# because I feel that it is an important language that is modern enough. Elixir because I am in love with what I have learned about the language so far. However, my evaluation of both languages is very subjective as I currently do not know any programming language deeply enough.

Is there someone here who knows C# through and through who could guide me and let me know how to make the right decision? Choosing the right language is important to me because I don’t have much time left for studying in my work routine.

If you know and love C#, would you still recommend I start with Elixir? If you know and love Elixir, would you still recommend that I go with C# as the first language I learn? Please share reasons why.

This will help a lot. Thank you!

I write C# professionally. I think every programmer should learn one functional language that doesn’t have same escape hatches like example F# does meaning they are immutable only. It will make you better programmer in the end even if you choose C#. I also think Elixir is easy to learn functional language. It’s also dynamic language and C# is static typed. If I where you I would learn both if you can starting from Elixir so you might gravitate towards better design in C#.

C# can be also be quite complex language with multiple ways to do same things. Also you have to think about things like thread safety and that means using locks etc. But C# might have better lot better job opportunities depending on where you live.

5 Likes