How does Flow and Task work in Elixir and how to run a function on all cores

Hi, I’m pretty new to Elixir.

I am currently rewriting an algorithm I wrote in c++ to Elixir. I wrote this algorithm in C++ sequentially and parallel.

The sequential code looks like this in an abstract way:

int algorithm(p_value, depth) {
  //some_preperation
for(int i = 0; i < N; ++i){
  //do_some_stuff
  if(condition1) {
   return 1
  } else {
     result += algorithm(new_value, depth+1);
  }
}
}

Based on the C++ code, I then rewrote the algorithm in Elixir. The sequential algorithm works.

The Code looks lile this in an abstract way:

def algorithm(p_value, depth) do
    #some_preparation
     Enum.reduce_while(0..N-1,0, fn x, acc ->
       #do_some_stuff
       if(condition1) do
          {:cont, acc + algorithm(new_value, depth+1)} #I want to parallelize the recursion
       else 
           {:halt, 1}

end
      end)
  end

So far, everything’s okay.

Now let’s talk about the parallel variation. In C++ I used the TBB library for this. How the library works is unimportant here. It is only important to understand at which position I want to parallelize and that is at the recursive call of the methods.

I would like to transfer this thought to Elixir.

First of all the C++ code in an abstract form:

int algorithm(p_value, depth) {
  task_list list;
  unsigned int results[N]; 
  count = 0; ##to count the number of tasks
  ##some_preperation

##do_some_stuff
    if(condition1) {
      ++*this->currentResult; ## instead of returning 1 
    } else {
       list.push_back(*new(allocate_child())algorithm(new_value, depth + 1, &results[i])); ##create a task for the recursion and insert it to my list
       ++count;
    }
}
##when the foor-loop finished --> iterate through tasks -> spawn and wait for them -->get the results of the tasks
 if(count > 0){
        set_ref_count(count+1);
        spawn_and_wait_for_all(list);

*this->currentResult+= results[i];
        }
    }
}