How much overlap is there between Docker and Elixir (BEAM VM)?

Hello, world!

I have had a question come to mind that I have been hoping some of the enthusiastic folks here in the Elixir community might be able to help me to answer.

Let me preface this by saying that I am a beginner with regards to both Docker and Elixir, and have not worked with Erlang in the past.

As I have been studying Docker recently, I’ve been impressed at how much it is able to do with regards to managing and facilitating communication between images. If we were to think of a running image as a process, then Docker seems to provide a lot of the kinds of concurrent programming superpowers that the BEAM VM does. In particular, I’ve noticed Docker’s ability to run multiple instances of services, easily be configured to monitor for crashes and take care of automatic restarts, and so on. This, it appears to me, seems to overlap greatly with the kinds of things we can do quite easily in Elixir through processes and with things like supervisors.

So my question boils down to this: How much overlap is there really between Docker and the BEAM VM? If I were to try to make a compelling argument to my team that Elixir is a technology worth adopting, considering that no one on my team knows of it and that Docker is already being put to use to varying degrees, what might you say makes it really stand out?

6 Likes

I think they are very different things Zack. I look at Docker like a sort of VPS; a container in which you run some software. Elixir on the other hand IS the software :slight_smile:

Many people use Docker for ease of deployment and commissioning production setups, in fact many people run Elixir software inside Docker containers.

1 Like

I’m aware of these extremely basic differences. My question is specifically about features that BEAM and Docker provide with regards to distribution, replication, process management, monitoring, and so on.