How to achieve atomicity (all or nothing)?

Suppose I have two states. In C, I can mutate them atomically (either all or none are mutated) using locks:

bool atomic_mutation() {
  lock(state1_lock);
  lock(state2_lock);

bool success = mutate1(state1);
  if (!success) {
    unlock(state1_lock);
    unlock(state2_lock);
    return false;
  }

success = mutate2(state2);
  if (!success) {
    // revert mutate1(state1)
    unlock(state1_lock);
    unlock(state2_lock);
    return false;
  }

unlock(state1_lock);
  unlock(state2_lock);
  return true;
}

I’m new to Elixir. What I’ve learned is that I normally use an Agent to manage a state. But how to achieve atomicity shown above in Elixir? Thanks!

Edit: I fixed the bug in the C code above as pointed out by @al2o3cr

Hey welcome! The short answer is that if you need shared state and you need to control changes to that state then yeah you would use an agent or GenServer (more generally) and put the state inside that.

In general though as a functional language much of your program design will be avoiding such shared state at all.

1 Like

I understand that the functional style avoids shared states as much as possible. But shared states can’t be eliminated in many applications, like databases.

Suppose I have two tables in a database. I need to mutate both tables atomically in a transaction. How to achieve this in Elixir using Agent or GenServer?

One solution is to have an Agent manage both tables as one state. However, the downside is poor performance — when processA mutates table1 and processB mutates table2, the two mutations can’t be done in parallel, even if they are independent of each other.

I would simply use the database itself for this, it will provide a ton of dedicated tooling for it.

4 Likes

How do you make sure multiple actors changes are actually independent?