How to Add HTML Attributes to HEEx Elements?

Hello I am new to Phoenix and am coming back to Elixir after a ~4 year hiatus.

I would like to add HTML attributes to HEEx elements, and they seem to do nothing - the resulting HTML does not contain an attribute.

Specifically, Im trying to add id="something" to a <.list> element. The resulting <dl> does not have any attributes I add. I have had a difficult time finding information on this online, and am wondering if its not possible.

How can HTML attributes be added to these elements?

Components need to be explicit about their props. If you only need an ID field then add an :id prop to your component definition. If you want to accept any valid html attribute then you’re looking for :global attributes. Check out the docs here.

1 Like

Thanks, Ill give those docs a read at some point. I dont think this is what I am looking for though, please pardon my naivety as Im unable to describe this well. This is not concerning live view, its just a regular .heex template file.

I also want to target a table row element, and Id like to add an id="" attribute to each row in my table. The heex <.table> . Anything Ive read in Phoenix.Component — Phoenix LiveView v0.20.14 does not reveal to me how I can add an id or a class etc to each tr that results when rendered.

I cant seem to find any documentation for the heex elements that “ship with” Phoenix - I have zero of my own local components.

Id like to know how to properly use the things that ship with Phoenix, like these heex elements, such as adding an attribute to <.list> or to rows in a <.table>. There is no local code for me to customize and add my own attributes.