How to add subsequent children to parent via many-to-many

I have a many-to-many relationship between Newsletter and Subscriber schemas that are joined through a Subscription schema, which is defined as follows:

schema "subscriptions" do
    belongs_to :newsletter, Newsletter
    belongs_to :subscriber, Subscriber

timestamps()
  end

I want to be able to add multiple Subscribers to a Newsletter and I’m running into some difficulties.

First, I tried to use put_assoc/3 but this requires on_replace to be set and I’m hesitate to use :delete while adding the new Subscriber to the preloaded ones on the Newsletter to the Changeset as the number of subscribers could grow quite large and it doesn’t feel right to add all the existing ones to the changeset.

build_assoc/3 on the other hand won’t work if I have an existing Subscriber (a Subscriber can subscribe to more than one Newsletter).

So, I’m left with doing the following:

%Subscription{newsletter_id: newsletter.id, subscriber_id: subscriber.id}
|> Repo.insert()

This isn’t the end of the world, but I was wondering if there is a better way to handle this? Is it normal to use put_assoc/3 and pass the existing children to the changeset in this instance?

This is only true if you are going to update the association at any point. If a subscription can’t have its subscriber changed, then there is no need to explicitly set on_replace since its default is :raise. I would make a dedicated create_changeset that put_assocs the assocations. You could get away with setting on_replace: :update and ensure you always pass the same newsletter and subscriber, but I wouldn’t recommend this if the relationship is supposed to be immutable.

I was previously trying to use put_assoc/3 with the Newsletter struct, but if I’m understanding you correctly, you’re saying that I should instead use it twice on the Subscription struct?

So, basically, this?

# Subscription.ex

def changeset(newsletter, subscriber) do
    %Subscription{}