How to Change Version of Bootstrap?

Hey all,

I’m very new to phoenix framework and at the stage of just laying out the frontend of my app (a multi-tenant one that I’ve asked about in another question in this forum today), and trying to find where I may be able to change a config setting or how I may use mix to change bootstrap.

I want to use version 4 (alpha) of bootstrap with the hope that it will be release for production by the time my app is ready for launch early next year.

Where/how can the version of bootstrap be changed in the phoenix framework?

Thanks

3 Likes

I usually get rid of the default application.css file and include the dependencies using npm and let brunch handle the dependencies.

2 Likes

Thanks, how do you do that?

I’ve tried:

deleting phoenix.css

then

npm install twbs/bootstrap#v4-dev

which installed but didn’t add it to package.json.

So I manually added devDependencies

“bootstrap”: “4.0.0-alpha.5”,

and got no complaint when running mix phoenix.server (I did after first trying “bootstrap: v4-dev”), so assumed it has been added.

I’m ok with Elixir but just getting into Phoenix, so do I need to make a new css file somewhere with Bootstrap 4 referenced in it?

Thanks

1 Like

Empty the contents of app.css and follow this guide http://stackoverflow.com/a/34470684/24105

5 Likes
  1. Remove Bootstrap from web/static/css/phoenix.css.
  2. npm install --save-dev bootstrap@4.0.0-alpha.5
  3. Update brunch-config.js:
npm: {
  // Add this.
  styles: {
    bootstrap: ["dist/css/bootstrap.css"]
  }
}

If you’d like to use Bootstrap’s JavaScript you also have to:

1. npm install --save-dev jquery
  2. Update brunch-config.js:
modules: {
  autoRequire: {
    // Add "jquery".
    "js/app.js": ["jquery", "web/static/js/app"]
  }
},
  // Add this.
  globals: {"jQuery": "jquery"}
}

This is required to make jQuery available to Bootstrap’s JavaScript.

Hope it helps. :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Change that to be: