How to configure certificates on NervesHubWeb locally?

Hello there :slight_smile:

So I am just starting to learn about nerves hub and trying to understand the whole certificates thing. For now I am pretty lost

I’ve cloned the nerves hub web repo and set it up locally and I am able to run it.

My goal now is to be able to locally create a firmware update, sign it and sent it to the server :slight_smile:

The next goal will be to make a device connect to the hub via SSL, and I am having troubles understanding how to configure that too

So I have many questions:

1. How do I locally generate a CA certificate?
  2. How do I upload it to my local nerves hub?
  3. How do I configure my project to sign firmware updates and publish them to the server? Do I have to generate more certificates for that? Do I need the server CA certificate in the client? (As you can see I am a complete noob when it comes to certificates and stuff like that)
  4. For devices SSL configuration. Does that have anything to do with the server CA certificate? Do I have to generate a new set of certificates for each device for them to communicate via SSL to the hub?

I have other doubts but maybe they get solved after the previous questions get solved

Thanks for your help

Hi Jaster

I’ve been working with the Nerves Hub team on making it easier to deploy, and some of this focus was around how certificates are setup and configured.

Are you setting this up for personal use? Are you looking at deploying this to a cloud environment?

The reason I ask is because there is a way to setup Nerves Hub using published Docker images, and not have to worry about using certificates, although I would highly recommend putting this behind a load balancer that takes care of SSL termination for you.

I’ve been meaning to update the installation instructions, which I’ll get to next week, but for now I can create a little GitHub gist that explains the setup.