How to connect to user-specified DB config using Ecto?

Hi all,

I’m a bit new to Ecto and Elixir. I got a question about connecting to a database.

I have a Phoenix project where I want to allow my user to connect to a database of their choosing. However, I’m not sure how to use Ecto to connect to the DB, unless it’s set in the configuration of the project and run when the server is started up.

When I have a second repo module

defmodule MyApp.SecondRepo do
  use Ecto.Repo, otp_app: :myapp
end

Elixir complains that it doesn’t have the right config to initialize this module. Can anyone point me to how to connect to a user-specified database after the Phoenix server has already been started up? Thanks.

Wil

2 Likes

Ecto does not allow dynamic configuration of the DB at runtime. Your only option is to directly use the DB-Adapter to go through connection and query.

Thats at least what I understand when reading github issue #1183

2 Likes

There are some configuration values that are required at compile-time. This is primarily the adapter - ecto inlines some functions in the repo, based on the adapter, in order to speed-up dome hot paths.

Most of the other configuration values can be passed to the repo’s start_link function (or as options in the supervisor).

There’s a list of compile-time options and runtime options in the documentation: https://hexdocs.pm/ecto/Ecto.Adapters.Postgres.html

4 Likes

Can you tell us a bit more broadly what your end result should be? I mean, I suspect you may want to do multi-tenancy by connecting to multiple databases? If this is the case then Ecto has sort of different approach, by using namespaces/prefixes rather than connecting to multiple databases.

1 Like

Do you know the list of DBs upfront ? then you can setup a repo per DB

1 Like

I’m making an SQL query builder, so a user would have to be able to connect to a database at runtime.