How to create a distributed and loadbalanced system?

I am new to Elixir and was wondering how to deploy a distributed and load balanced system.

I mean:
I have in mind a service based architecture, so to say, where each app offers a service the the system.
There could be any number of nodes, and each of them could execute any number of applications, at least one of them.

I have been reading about libcluster, and seems to be the way to achieve automatic node connection, but:

• How to discover wich apps is running the new connected node?
  • How to balance the load between them?

I have read a little bit abouf erlang :pool but I do not figure how to use it…

Any tips or documentation links to read would be very much appreciated.

2 Likes

You might want to use libcluster with swarm, from the same author.

1 Like

What exactly are you trying to do? The architecture will depend on what your ultimate goal

I came from a Service Based Architecture mindset, so maybe I am approaching this in the wrong way, but I was thinking on a system build by different Elixir apps that would provide different services.
Given a cluster of elixir nodes each app could be executed on any of those nodes.
When more resources are needed new nodes will be added to that cluster, manually or automatically, and tha apps running on those new nodes should be added to the existing ones and the load balanced between them to handle the increased traffic in the application.

That’s more or less what I was thinking. Seems to me that libcluster could help with the automagic discovery of new nodes, but do not know about the loadbalance part

You should also check Phoenix Pubsub, as standalone… It includes tools from now obsolete Firenest.

Also I am not sure it is a good idea to apply service based architecture concept to the BEAM, because it does not really work that way. Already one node is composed of multiple “micro services”, as any process could provide a service.

1 Like