How to design a Phoenix application to leverage scaling features

I’m trying to plan my application structure and was wondering if someone who knows a bit more about how elixir works under the hood could give me advice on which of my two ideas are more scalable for the least amount of complexity. I am a beginner with Elixir and Phoenix and have really been enjoying it and want to learn more. I want to jump into a full project with it that I have been planning for a while

One thing I have learned about web sockets in other languages is that they have to be scaled in a different way that a simple crud api, so it might make sense to separate them into different services.

There’s three capabilities my backend needs to run. CRUD/HTTP Rest api, scheduled background task (fetching from external data source and writing to db multiple times an hour for about 15 hours every single day), and a real-time chat.

In the future, my application will need to fetch and serve live stream video that runs all the time during the day but won’t run at night.

With other tooling it would make sense to separate these into different services for scaling purposes. Do tools like Oban background jobs and Phoenix Channels solve this scaling issue under the hood? Or would a micro services design still provide scaling benefits?

Most example projects I see are mono repos. I am leaning toward this as it will make modeling relations across services much easier to manage. I’m more just interested in learning how things like Supervisor work. Is what the problem I described the use case for Supervisor / the actor model, or am I totally off base here?

Would love if anyone could point me to some resources on more advanced Phoenix/Elixir topics.

2 Likes