How to display mnesia records with corresponding field names?

Hi,

I am new to Erlang. I am writing escript which makes database related operations. I list the records by using mnesia:foldl method as follows;

select_all(RemoteNode, TableName) ->
  %% enumerate the records in a specific table
  rpc:call( RemoteNode, mnesia, transaction, [
    fun() -> mnesia:foldl(
      fun(Rec,_Acc) -> io:format("~p\n",[Rec]) end, 
      [], 
      TableName)
    end
  ]).

But this method returns list in tuple format. I want to listen records with corresponding field names.

After exploring the approach, I only find the following ;

-module('foo').
-author('Mats Cronqvist'). 
-export([go/0]). 
-define(rec_info(T,R),lists:zip(record_info(fields,T),tl(tuple_to_list(R)))). 
-record(r,{bla,foo,baz,bar}). 

go() -> ?rec_info(r,#r{}).`

> Result -> foo:go().
> [{bla,undefined},
> {foo,undefined},
> {baz,undefined},
> {bar,undefined}]

I couldn’t understand the syntax of the method stated above. So I couldn’t manage to apply it to my script.
How can I display the records with field names ?

Thanks in advance,

If I had to figure out Mnesia I’d most likely start here:

learn you some Erlang: Mnesia And The Art of Remembering

which is also a great all around Erlang resource.

You can find the attributes (aka fields) of a table using record_info(fields, TableOrRecordName) which returns a list.

When you read from mnesia you get a tuple representation of the record. Hence the tuple_to_list(R).

However this representation includes the name of the record as the first element, we call this a named tuple. tl(tuple_to_list(R)) drops this name leaving you with just the attributes of the table.

In your specific case

fun() -> mnesia:foldl(
  fun(Rec, _Acc) -> io:format(
    "~p\n", 
    [lists:zip(record_info(fields, TableName, tl(tuple_to_list(Rec)) ))]
  ) end,
  [], TableName) 
end
2 Likes

Firstly,