How to document fields on a struct?

Hey folks! I want to add documentation for individual fields on a struct/typedstruct, and I’m wondering about available options? I’m new in elixir.

typedstruct do
  @typedoc "Foo struct is so foo"

# the foo field is so foo
  field :foo, String.t()

# the bar field is so bar
  field :bar, String.t()
end
2 Likes

You can create custom typespec and document with this

The convention is to create a type called t using the @type attribute.

defmodule MyApp.Foo do

defstruct [:foo, :bar]

@typedoc "My Foo data type."
  @type t :: %__MODULE__{foo: String.t(), bar: String.t()}

@spec new_foo(keyword) :: t
  def new_foo(opts) do
    struct!(__MODULE__, opts)
  end
end

You can reference your new type from other modules with MyApp.Foo.t() just as you would String.t().

Typespecs

Defstruct#types

typedstruct will generate the t() under the hood. My question was more about individual fields on a struct. Those are :foo and :bar in my example:

# the foo field is so foo
  field :foo, String.t()

# the bar field is so bar
  field :bar, String.t()

What you are suggesting is something like this:

@typedoc "the foo field is so foo"
@type foo::String

@typedoc "the bar field is so bar"
@type bar::String

typedstruct do
  @typedoc "Foo struct is so foo"

field :foo, foo
  field :bar, bar
end

Obviously I don’t want to create a type for every single field just to document it, because I have dozens of fields and hundreds of structs.

Sorry I guess I misunderstood your question! I’m not familiar with that library, I thought it was pseudocode :slight_smile:

IMO, t() is self-documenting as far as what types you expect in the fields. If I wanted more documentation I would add it to the top-level @typedoc. e.g.

@typedoc """
The Foo type.

## Fields

* `:foo` - A string that says "foo"
  * `:bar` - A string that says "bar"
"""

Maybe there’s a feature in the typedstruct library, but that’s what I would do in vanilla Elixir

1 Like