How to get the current URL?

I’ve read in another post that it may be possible with a router helper - but I couldn’t find an appropriate one, and tbh, I’m still just finding my way around the docs eg not even sure where to find info on conn opt.

Thanks

1 Like

Here you go:

https://hexdocs.pm/plug/Plug.Conn.html

2 Likes

Oh thanks,

I meant to say, as an aside, I couldn’t find info for the singular ‘opt’, but now relooking at it, it’s a common abbreviation. Gah I’m a noob.

But on the topic - I’ve looked through plug.conn already and wondered if I should use request_path as this is all I need (there is no query path in what I’m trying to get, and as it’s my app, there’s no need to check the host) - and how would I use it?

What would you like to do with it?

In a controller it’s accessible via conn.request_path. In a template it’s accessible via @conn.request_path.

Here’s a good example:

It adds class="active" to links that point to the current page.

3 Likes

Thanks,

I’m trying to customise Coherence’s links (the buttons you helped me with recently) in the navbar I’ve made so that on the home page of the app, when a user isn’t signed in, the register ("Need an Account) and signin links are visible - as they current are - but when clicking on the register button that takes the user to /registrations/new - just the signin button is displayed, and when they click the signin button and go to that page - just the register button is displayed.

Here’s the code that does the links (buttons):

if Coherence.logged_in?(conn) do
      current_user = Coherence.current_user(conn)
      [
        content_tag(list_tag, current_user.name),
        content_tag(list_tag,
          button(signout, to: coherence_path(@helpers, :session_path, conn, :delete, current_user), method: :delete, class: signout_class))
      ]
    else
      signin_link = content_tag(list_tag, link(signin, to: coherence_path(@helpers, :session_path, conn, :new), class: button_class), class: list_class)