How to handle actions with not matching parameters

I’ve created a JSON API and deconstruct parameters in the controller action like this:

def create(conn, %{“item” => item_params}) do

end

Now I’d like to capture the cases where the pattern isn’t matched (e.g. not having the “item” in the request JSON) and send an appropriate error JSON.

How can this be done? Now I just get “no function clause matching in …create/2” error. After some research I found the following issue which would suit my needs, but it was closed by José:

Write a second clause for the function:

def create(conn, params)

do_stuff()
end

def create(conn, _params) do
  send_error()
end
1 Like

I actually thought about this, but then I asked me, how can Elixir know which function to take for a valid request? In that case both functions would match, right? How is the priority handled in Elixir? Sorry, this is a very basic question as I’m new to Elixir/Phoenix…

The pattern matching is applied top to bottom:

# This is optional.
def create(conn, params)

# Attempted first, matches on correct params.
  do_stuff()
end

# Matches everything else.
def create(conn, _params) do
  send_error()
end
3 Likes

Ah, thanks for this, that’s essential to know!

I just wanted to point to the documentation about pattern matching in functions, but there seems to be none. Neither in elixir-hexdocs nor in the guide…? Am I missing something?

2 Likes

How about Pattern matching - The Elixir programming language

EDIT: oh, I see. There’s no mention of pattern matching in function heads.

3 Likes

There is sth here Functions · Elixir School
But its not part of the official docs.

2 Likes

I am also confused by this.

José Valim here:

The ActionClauseError is already rendered as the appropriate 400, so you likely don’t need to do anything here.

Chris McCord here: