How to hold a reference to a process even after it is restarted?

Hi, I’m fairly new to Elixir. I wrote a game lobby server with the good old create / join room functionality. Here’s what my process tree looks like:

• App
    • PlayerSupervisor (DynamicSupervisor)
      • Player (GenServer)
    • RoomSupervisor (DynamicSupervisor)
      • Room (GenServer)

In the Room process, I stored a list of pid of Player processes, in order to broadcast messages to the players in the same room. Now, if the Player process crashes, the pid that Room holds is no longer available, even if PlayerSupervisor has restart that Player process. So, how can I hold a reference to a process even after it is restarted by DynamicSupervisor? Or did I model the application the wrong way?

1 Like

Take a look at Registry. Rather
than tracking the pid of the process, you just need to know the key it is registered as.
You may even be able to use the broadcast functionality that comes with Registry dispatch/3

2 Likes

For your use case I think the best would be for the Room to monitor the Player process, and remove it from the list of pids when it dies. The player process should re-join the room(s) when it starts up.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply. But what happened if the Player process crashes when using Registry? In the documentation, it says:

Each entry in the registry is associated to the process that has registered the key. If the process crashes, the keys associated to that process are automatically removed. All key comparisons in the registry are done using the match operation (===/2).

So when the Player process crashes, it just will be removed by Registry. What I want is to retain the reference to the Player process, which means the Room process does not even know the Player process has been restarted by its supervisor.

You do not specify if You use Phoenix, or just Elixir.

If You use Phoenix and websocket, then the whole Player system could be replaced by Presence.