How to implement different game rules?

I’m learning Elixir by myself for fun now. I have basic Python knowledge before. I think the best way to learn a new programming language is to do some real projects. I’m try to create a web based poker game. The basic unit of the game is the table. Different tables have different game rules. e.g. Texas Hold’em table, Omaha table. etc. But as a functional programming language, Elixir has no class no object no inheritance. My question is how to implement a structure that can associate with different game rules?

Just use different modules for different games. Maybe also create a basic module with @callbacks and use it as a @behaviour on the implementation modules, to define a common interface for them, and ensure they have the functions the base game module calls.

2 Likes

I think that you could dive straight into a project if Elixir was Object-Oriented (Python). The patterns used to design a game using functional programming are different. In my opinion start by studying the basics of Elixir (Syntax + Project organisation using Mix).
Reading this documentation will be a good starting point.
Good luck.

If You like Poker with Elixir, there is an old post about it here https://tokafish.com/playing-poker-with-elixir-part-1/ You might need to adapt for newer version, but the post is nice.

Other games I often saw, Tic Tac Toe, Tetris…

I wrote a little game engine for go here https://hex.pm/packages/elixir_go

For a more complete example, there is this video

1 Like

@AlecHsueh: I don’t exactly know about rules that you need to implement, but here is my idea:

Firstly declare your configuration with some raw data that you will process in game:

config :my_app, table_rules: %{
  omaha: %{}, # here you can describe rules for Omaha
  texas: %{} # here you can describe rules for Texas Hold'em
}
# Note: keep rules in format that you like

Secondly create a GenServer-based module:

defmodule MyApp.TableServer do
  use GenServer