How to limit the number of concurrent running exports?

I have an endpoint in my app to download reports for orders. A report can have thousand of orders so I would not want to let the number of concurrent exports grow too much if I receive a burst of exports.
I am not sure that to use to limit the number of concurrent workers.
First solution I see is to use poolboy to queue the exports in front of the workers.
Next I studied GenStage but since the events are coming at a later time the consumer does not ask for new events afters the initial pool is empty. GenStage does not fit too well in here since I do not ask for events, they are coming outside my control at a later time.
I also tried broadway but I’m afraid that I complicate too much the initial requirement.
What is the best option here?

It’s absolutely possible to use GenStage even if events are pushed into the system, take a look at this article that goes through handling both “push” and “pull” scenarios.

https://medium.com/@andreichernykh/elixir-a-few-things-about-genstage-id-wish-to-knew-some-time-ago-b826ca7d48ba

I think maybe you should think about what you want to happen if you get too many requests at the same time. Should additional requests fail or get queued? Even if you queue up you might want to consider what happens if the queue grows too long. And if it’s important that no event is lost, you should probably look at an external queue or a library like GitHub - samsondav/rihanna: Rihanna is a high performance postgres-backed job queue for Elixir that uses some form of persistence.

3 Likes

Task.async_stream may be helpful if you want a pure stdlib solution. The max_concurrency option in particular

https://hexdocs.pm/elixir/Task.html#async_stream/3

2 Likes