How to proper setup samly for PingFederate SP connection

Hello,

I’m quite new to SAML and Samly, so do not hesitate if I do not provide enough information.

I’m trying to setup properly my Samly (static config) to worked with a local self hosted PingFederate instance.
For now I can reach PingFederate form but after submit SAML Challenge come to my Elixir app, SAMLY throws an error:

access_denied {{:badmatch, []}, [{:xmerl_dsig, :verify, 2, [file: '/Users/xxxx/.../app-umbrella/deps/esaml/src/xmerl_dsig.erl', line: 197]},
{:esaml_sp, :"-validate_assertion/3-fun-2-", 2...

I understand that assertions validation failed and assume that is related to either config in PingFederate side or SAMLY’s.

Here is my local SAMLY static config for my IDP

%{
      id: local_idp_id,
      sp_id: local_sp_id,
      base_url: "#{base_url}/#{local_idp_id}/sso",
      metadata_file: "metadata-pingfederate-local.xml",
      pre_session_create_pipeline: AppWeb.PingoneSamlPipeline,
      allow_idp_initiated_flow: true,
      use_redirect_for_req: false,
      sign_requests: true,
      sign_metadata: true,
      signed_assertion_in_resp: true,
      signed_envelopes_in_resp: false,
      nameid_format: :transient
    }

the related SP is configured and already used by other IDPs.

My frictions points are on some settings set up on PingFederate admin tool.
Here are some one of them:

1. What value for nameid_format? The assertion creation allows 3 choices: Standard, Pseudonym and Transient. I’m only aware of persistent and transient for SAMLY config so I chose transient
  • STANDARD: Send the SP a known attribute value as the name identifier. The SP will often use account mapping to identify the user locally.
  • TRANSIENT: Send the SP an opaque, temporary value as the name identifier.