How to provide overrideable library behavior?

I’ve been using Elixir long enough to have a decent grasp on the mechanical bits of how the language fits together, but I feel like I’m still learning the pieces of how things are typically done (conventions and whatnot). Today I encountered a problem and came up with a solution that works, but I am curious if it’s a solution that smells good to the rest of you, or if there’s some other approach that I failed to think up. So, how would you solve this? Or, critique my solution—feedback big or small accepted :smile:

The Problem

I’m using Arc with the GCS storage provider. If you’re lucky, you can just point it towards a bucket and it will use Goth to obtain an API token using the credentials you’ve already configured in Goth.

I’m not lucky, and I have two sets of credentials in my Goth configuration. This means the token function needs to be called with different parameters to specify which set of credentials to use. I need some way to hook into the arc_gcs library to override its default token fetching code.

My solution

Here’s my branch on GitHub.

I need a configuration option, but the token fetching itself is dynamic, so I can use a configuration option to provide a module that provides the token logic. And it seems like there should be a formally-defined interface for this, so it’s probably a time for behaviours…?

I change the arc_gcs library so it takes a configuration option to fetch the token:

-  defp for_scope(scopes) when is_list(scopes), do: for_scope(Enum.join(scopes, " "))
-
-  defp for_scope(scope) when is_binary(scope) do
-    {:ok, token} = Token.for_scope(scope)
-    token.token
-  end
+  defp for_scope(scopes) do
+    token_store = Application.get_env(:arc, :token_fetcher, DefaultGothToken)
+    token_store.get_token(scopes)
+  end

And define a behaviour and default implementation in the library:

defmodule TokenFetcher do
    @callback get_token(binary | [binary]) :: binary
  end