How to remove/delete a many-to-many relationhip?

I’m relatively new to Elixir/Phoenix (I have much more familiarity with RoR) but I’ve made it quite far in my new application by following tutorials and the documentation.

I am building a sort of one-stop shop for user accounts, where users can be created, and given permissions to one or more web sites (AKA resources) that I work on. Users can have many resources they belong to, and resources have many users that belong to it, so I went with a many-to-many relationship.

I created the user_resources table in the database as a full table with an auto-generated ID. Since a user can’t belong to a resource twice (or vice versa), I’ve created what I believe is a good unique index.

defmodule MyApp.Repo.Migrations.CreateUserResources do
  use Ecto.Migration

def change do
    create table(:user_resources) do
      add :user_id, references(:users)
      add :resource_id, references(:resources)
      add :inserted_by, :integer
      add :updated_by, :integer

timestamps()
    end

create unique_index(:user_resources, [:user_id, :resource_id])
  end
end

I also set up a schema for this relationship. I much prefer my relationships to be as fully fleshed out as possible, so that’s what I’ve done here.

defmodule MyApp.Account.UserResource do
  use Ecto.Schema
  import Ecto.Changeset

schema "user_resources" do
    field :resource_id, :integer
    field :user_id, :integer
    field :inserted_by, :integer
    field :updated_by, :integer

timestamps()
  end

@doc false
  def changeset(user_resource, attrs) do
    user_resource
    |> cast(attrs, [:user_id, :resource_id, :inserted_by, :updated_by])
    |> validate_required([:user_id, :resource_id, :inserted_by, :updated_by])
  end
end

I can successfully add a User to a Resource in my controller like this:

def add_user(conn, %{"resource_id" => resource_id, "user_id" => user_id}) do
    resource = Domain.get_resource!(resource_id)
    user = Account.get_user!(user_id)