How to remove entries from nested Maps with string and atom keys

Hi all, pretty new to the forum although I’ve been lead here countless times already when googling answers :slight_smile: Thanks all who contribute here.
I’m new to Elixir and using Phoenix (and Vuejs) to create a turn-based TC game . Clients communicate through sockets, game states are stored in a GenServer (which will probably also persist the data to Postgres at some point since I already use PG to hold accounts and etc).

My question though is related to mapping the game state. When a game starts a map container with general info and each players info is generated. I then communicate this game state through sockets to each client - but since part of the map should be invisible to the opposing player I need to clear that out from each broadcast (so player 1 gets specific data from player 2 removed from the message, and vice-versa).

First I tried doing this:

def clean_player(:player_2 , state) do
    put_in(state, ["player_2", :deck], false)
    put_in(state, ["player_2", :decklist], false)
    put_in(state, ["player_2", :grimoire], false)
    put_in(state, ["player_2", :sideboard], false)
    state
end

(I eventually |> piped state into each put_in but then just to make sure I wrote it like that)
If I IO.puts state["player_2"][:deck] I will see the key, but the put_in doesn’t really do anything. It doesn’t raise an error but it also leaves the map unchanged. So I switched to creating a new hash map, using info from the existing map and setting the keys I want “invisible” to whatever, like so:

%{
      players: state[:players],
      player_1: state["player_1"],
      player_2: %{
        username: state["player_2"][:username],
        deck: false,
        decklist: false,
        life: 20,
        aether: state["player_2"][:aether],
        grimoire: false,
        graveyard: state["player_2"][:graveyard],
        play: state["player_2"][:play],
        exile: state["player_2"][:exile],