How to take the Erlang/Elixir way of doing things to Python?

I have a new role in a domain that is completely dominated by Python. This is in the scientific R&D domain, where Python is used for everything from distributed control systems to data analysis pipelines. Of course, it’s the latter that makes some sense but not the former. However, that is the ultimate reality of the situation, in the short term at least.

I have never built big systems in Python before, so I am feeling a little bit like a fish out of water, especially since most of my systems have been built using Elixir, F#, and LabVIEW, all using actor/process-oriented architectures.

What I am looking for is advice from people who have built large systems in both Python and Elixir or Erlang and how they went about doing Erlang/Elixir-y type of things in Python without straying too far away from so-called Pythonic code. Obviously, a distributed control system calls for exactly the things provided by the BEAM, Erlang/Elixir, and OTP, but in the early days here, I must build in Python. So what I need are BEAM and OTP-ish type of things in Python without being too exotic. I.e., I need this to be robust as possible in Python while having a reasonable architecture for handling asynchronous and distributed things.

What architectures did you use? What libraries? Etc. Think of large amounts of hardware being controlled with large amounts of telemetry coming in from distributed network devices, all collected into a single control computer that will also handle user interfaces. I know of Pykka, and I’ve done some experiments with it, and it looks reasonable. But I am wanting some advice of robust frameworks, and I don’t know how robust and well-used Pykka is. There is also Ray. The user interface(s) will be using PyQt6 or PySide6, although there will also likely be some remote viewing (over the browser) for telemetry only.

1 Like

Hi,