How to test Supervisor and GenServer?

Hi,

I’m a newbie to Elixir and OTP and trying to learn them by building a small testing tool. It is a tool that regularly make some REST call to my service to check their SLA ( in this case, response time). Here is the supervision tree that I come up with.

Quick summary on the roles of each process.

• Control center is the brain and it will spawn a synthesizer for each system that I want to test

• Synthesizer is responsible for scheduling new Test (by messaging Tester Supervisor to spawn new Tester process) based on some schedule (for example one test per minutes)

• Tester Supervisor is responsible for spawning new tester and manage their lifecycle

• Tester is the process that will make some rest calls and measure the response time.

I ran into couple things that I’m not sure and would be great if someone can give me some advice.

• Am I structuring the process right? I am not sure when to use Supervisor and when to use GenServer and this is what I come up with the best of my knowledge.

• From my understanding, I need to explicitly make a call to Supervisor.start_child/2 when I want to spawn a new child supervised using simple_one_to_one strategy. But where should I call this? From different online tutorials or docs, I can see that there’re different approaches. For example, some will suggest adding a new client API in the supervisor, something like create_child and in that call, invoke Supervisor.start_child/2. Others will add a new client API in the child, like create, and invoke Supervisor.start_child/2 and refer to the Supervisor using Module name. Is there a convention in Elixir for this? or it’s really up to the implementer? If it’s the later one, anyone can share some pros and cons of the two approaches?