How to use Phoenix and react js with Shopify Polaris

Hi
I am trying to make a shopify app using phoenix…
and shopify recommends using react js for the front end(Shopify polaris).

I am very new to React so I read some documents, and watched some tutorial…
Then I set up react with phoenix framework.

But I don’t still understand basics and couldn’t find a help.

How can I use such a form action in react front end?
How can I do submit a form in react ? so my controller do the job?

You’ll need to make a post request when submitting the form, using either a library like axios, superagent… or the native browser API fetch. Using a library is a good idea, you’ll get better browser compatibility, a better way to handle unexpected errors and so on.

However I find a very tedious task building forms using JavaScript, you can build your form with Phoenix like normal, and validate all the fields using vanilla JavaScript, no React.js is needed for that.

2 Likes

Having had a quick scan of the documentation of polaris-react, it is my impression there isn’t any place for Phoenix.

The back end for a Polaris app is the EASDK (Embedded App SDK) accessed via the Shopify App Bridge (npm; using Actions) - i.e. Polaris is an embedded front end/native app centric solution (i.e. the back end is entirely controlled by Shopify).

What’s worse, while Facebook uses Flow, Shopify decided to use TypeScript to implement the React components - so reading the source code is just that annoyingly bit different.

For a non-embedded app there is the Rails based shopify_app and a simple node/Express example - which could likely be emulated with Phoenix but seem to be the “old way of doing things”.