How you would do a cross-aggregate projection with Commanded?

Hi all

I am new to Commanded and whole world of CQRS, trying to evaluate whether it would suite my case. I would appreciate suggestions on how you would do a cross-aggregate projection.

I am thinking about a small specialized Human Resources related service. Candidates submit their resumes, Recruiters submit their vacancies. Commanded and CQRS should work just fine for whichever slices and dices I’d want to have e.g. for listing the highest paying vacancies in a particular field.

But I can’t wrap my head about recommendations. If I have a primitive recommendation engine to recommend candidates with elixir skill to recruiters looking for elixir skill and the other way around, does it essentially mean that I need to build a projection (a PostgreSQL table most probably) on every vacancy/candidate update? Possibly even rebuild the whole table on every small aggregate change?

• Is it normal and expected or am I missing something?
  • Or is it conceptually okay to have separate projections for candidates/recruiters and “derive” recommendations by querying them with an sql JOIN? Even if recommendations will become more computationally intensive later (e.g. require calling a machine leaning mode)?
  • Or is it a known problem with the known recommendations?
  • How would you do it? I will be grateful for any pointers.

Hi Artem,

I think there are multiple solutions to what you’re talking about and they are not as much commanded related, but are practices related to EventSourcing in general.

Most of this depends on how you’re modelling your solution.

Firstly, a side remark that might be not super relevant for your question, but I’d like to add it anyway:
In Domain-Driven Design (DDD) I like to make it very explicit what an aggregate is: An aggregate is responsible to keep certain constraints consistent at all times.