I just failed my dream job

I have been a developer for around 8 years. I started with Ruby on Rails, and then moved on to Elixir and Phoenix.

I have been working with Elixir almost from the start, because my predecessor forced me to. I have been working with Phoenix, before they made the switch to DDD - which was what made me believe into the framework whole heartedly.

I have been a mentor to people, in Ruby as well as in Elixir.
I made a package that was there before Jason included many of its features.
I might know more about how Phoenix works, than most people working with it.
For a long time, I tried my best to pass on my knowledge on this forum.

But I failed in a simple code exercise, I knew I failed when I saw their faces.
I knew when they asked the questions, I knew I screwed upā€¦

But I have never seen an opportunity like this.

For all the people asking about job opportunities, thisā€¦ should show you that maybe that there arenā€™t as many, but the opportunities given, are sooooo good!

Donā€™t give up people, I know we can make it!

38 Likes

Donā€™t sweat it bro, sometimes the job isnā€™t a good fit for you. Itā€™s not that you suck, itā€™s that you and the job werenā€™t vibing.

12 Likes

OK, if thereā€™s anybody on this forum who wanted to know more about me, well, youā€™ve just hit the jackpot. Here goes nothing!

Interview processes are broken beyond repair, people bring a ton of unjustified bias and unreasonable expectations towards candidates and itā€™s extremely rarely to ā€œfailā€ an interview entirely through your fault only. 95% of the time both sides ā€œfailedā€.

Here are some examples from the last several years of my rather colorful career: