I need good guide to learn Elixir

Hi all,

I am a Fullstack JS developer for last 2 years. I need a good guide to learn elixer. Any suggestions please

1 Like

Let’s start with the right syntax: it’s Elixir (“i”, not “e”).

Did you go through the official guides first? They give an excellent base to build on top of.

4 Likes

Welcome!

If you like video courses, you are in luck, there are (at least) two exceptionally good ones for Elixir:

Beginner books I would recommend:

Also I would recommend the Elixir track here

The official documentation of Elixir (guide and at hexdocs) and the “big” libraries (Ecto, Phoenix) is very good.

You can geht help here or in the Elixir slack channel.

3 Likes

Just to add to previous answers…

You should know there are different steps in your learning.

• Functional Programming
  • Phoenix
  • Ecto
  • OTP
  • Nerves

etc… Each could be subject to a whole book (or many books)

If You already know FP from JS, it’s easier.
If You want to do web, Phoenix would be like Express
Ecto would be like mongoose
OTP is … not matched in JS, but is the core of concurrent programming
Nerves too is not matched in JS, but is the core of doing embedded devices with the BEAM

4 Likes

And from koko’s list, if you’re not familiar with Functional Programming, leave everything you know on the door while learning. It’ll make your life easier to come without assumptions of any kind.

4 Likes

I have gone down many rabbit holes in the pursuit of becoming an efficient Elixir Developer. Unlike Ruby on Rails, you cant just start with Phoenix with zero Elixir language especially coming from an OOP side. For me, at least I needed a good grounding in Elixir foundations to truly grok Phoenix.

Note: Some folks will say skip OTP. I will say don’t. True you could develop proficiency in Phoenix without OTP, but OTP is the secret sauce (and pattern matching).

If I go back and do it all over again I would suggest this learning path: