Ideas for graduate school project (a library) in Elixir

Hi there,

I am a Masters student (no-thesis option) and would like to give back the the community by writing a library in the next ~4-5 months as a graduation project.

Criteria: It would be lovely if it is based on a paper and the Elixir/Erlang community is missing that sort of functionality.

Thanks.

4 Likes

If you did this it would be amazing:

Sorry, don’t have a link to the paper, but I’m sure it’s in the video somewhere.

1 Like

Link to the json crdt paper A Conflict-Free Replicated JSON Datatype
Link to more information regarding potential applications and alternatives and more: Local first software
JavaScript official implementation by the author : Automerge
A rust port of the backend in rust (based on the work on the performance branche) Automerge-rs

It’s indeed a very cool and exciting field of research and it would indeed be nice to have an Elixir/Erlang version, although the research being cutting-edge could turn out to be impractical (but people working on this are much smarter than I am, and they seem confident).

If you’re into vm implementation there is an effort to have a beam running on top of web assembly, that may also be a worthwhile learning experience Lumen.

Whatever you decide, be sure to check with the teaching staff, so that you get proper support and don’t waste your time.

Good luck!

Edit: addendum, other potential relevant work in the crdt field :

https://replicated.cc/

There’s an elixir implementation, but it seems stalled.

3 Likes

Have you seen the Erlang Ecosystem Foundation’s Working Groups page? There might be something the community needs that you could build.

1 Like

Thanks everyone for all of your suggestions and special thanks to @krstfk for your detailed reply. I will keep replying to this thread with updates and hopefully in 4 months we will have a new maintained library for Elixir.

1 Like

Glad I could help somewhat.