Ideas for projects

Hey,

i don’t know if this is the right category, so please move it if it’s not :slight_smile:

As you can read in my other thread i am really new to programming, but not new in IT.
So i have a lot of knowledge as a user and administrator in different kind of Software.

I have the question if Elixir is capable of the following ideas. It’s not important that some of the project can’t be made by someone alone. That is not the topic.

1. A monitoring software
    You install an “agent or probe” on a client and the client pushes (or the server asks) for different kind of data (% storage left on the device, status of an SSL certificate etc.).
    The data will be shown in a web user interface.
    You can take this for example → PRTG Network Monitor » All-In-One Network Monitoring Software
    I don’t know if you are able to make such agent in Elixir, or if you have to avoid to another language for this part and use Elixir just for the web app. As far a i know PRTG is implemented in Delphi, Go and C++.

2. A Ticketing System in Kanban Style.
    This would be for internal usage. Just plain webbased with drag&dropping tickets from line to line (New, In Progress, Waiting, Done…). With incoming mails processed directly to a new ticket and the option to answer directly to a customer from the “ticketcards” via mail.
    Is this possible?

Thanks for your input,
Nopp

1 Like
  1. Yes, I think elixir is capable of doing this, server and client. Only if you want to have some command line tool for user interaction, I’d fall back into another language and let it talk via a unix-socket (or even a REST-API) to the elixir part.