Idiomatic Pattern Matching: function `def` vs. `case`

Hello! I’m Scott. I’m new to Elixir, and to the forums. :wave:

I have a question I’ve searching here and on StackOverflow, and haven’t managed to find anything on this.

I’m wondering what’s the best/most idiomatic location/method for pattern matching: using multiple pattern-matched function definitions, or using a single function with a case statement? To take an example from my solution to the exercism.io Elixir stream’s Rotational Cipher problem:

defp shift_by(char, amount) when char in @lower_case do
  char |> shift_from_base(?a, amount)
end

defp shift_by(char, amount) when char in @upper_case do
  char |> shift_from_base(?A, amount)
end

defp shift_by(char, _), do: char

But this could just as easily be written:

defp shift_by(char, amount) do
  case char do
    char when char in @lower_case -> char |> shift_from_base(?a, amount)
    char when char in @upper_case -> char |> shift_from_base(?A, amount)
    _ -> char
  end
end

Ignoring any infelicities or good abstractions I’ve failed to muster (and the actual details of the implementation), I’m wondering which is the more idiomatic way of writing this? Are there advantages to using pattern matching in function definitions instead of case statements, or vice versa?

To my eye, multiple function definitions reads better, but I’ve noticed that on exercism, people tend to put their pattern matching in a case. Maybe my preference for putting pattern matching in function defs is just my javascript prejudice against switch blocks showing?

Thanks!

2 Likes

Have a look at this one

http://learnyousomeerlang.com/syntax-in-functions

and this one

Often solution comes from erlang…

In this case, it says in short that guard can have multiple clauses while case have a single clause

1 Like

Generally it doesn’t matter much and you should use the one that shows intent the best or make the code clearer.