If Epic Games used Elixir, could they handle the traffic?

Earlier today Epic Games released GTA V for free as an offer and their website almost immediately crashed. I’m still new to the world of Elixir and OTP so it got me wondering: if they used Elixir for their store backend, could they’ve handled the traffic? Of course it could also depend on how their OT scales but I’m curious about what more experienced Elixers have to say about this.

2 Likes

I don’t remember names from the top of my head, but I do remember that there are some game studios that indeed use Elixir or Erlang to handle their matchmaking, as well as a company that does in-game analytics using Elixir for the backend.

1 Like

according to stackshare.io they are using elixir, but it doesn’t go to much into detail where and how they are using it. https://stackshare.io/epic-games/epic-games

I saw that but didn’t really find anything besides that claim. They have some writeups regarding their use of AWS but they never mention Elixir.

Seems like Square Enix and Riot Games use it.

1 Like

According to this they use JVM for their store backend https://gamejobs.co/Senior-Backend-Engineer-at-Epic-Games

1 Like

The answer is, we cannot say. Elixir is not a silver bullet. For example Elixir in itself cannot prevent the database or caches from being overloaded. Sure it provides you with tools to handle concurrency easier than some other technologies but to really scale you need to put in work and most often your database ends up being the bottleneck anyway.

18 Likes

Magnus Henoch and Ramón Lastres gave a presentation at the virtual BEAM Meetup of 2020-04-23 about how Elixir is used for their company ‘GameAnalytics’. The recorded video of the meetup can be found here.

3 Likes

No

It was a pleasure helping you

10 Likes