Immutability beginner question

hello,
As I stated in another topic, I’m a complete beginner in Elixir.

I approached two learning resources in order to learn Elixir:

• Pragmatic Studio;
  • Learn Functional Programming in Elixir.

I have a general question about immutability.

If we are able to change a value of a variable (I mean to change the binding of a variable),

for example:
a = 1
and then:
a = 2

this is a mutable state actually. Isn’t it?
I think about this topic at the keyword “val” in Scala.

So why we talk about immutability of variables?

I have got also an example from Pragmatic Studio where you are able to change the values inside a map (not the maps’ structure itself) with a:

%{ conv | resp_body: “Bears, Lions, Tigers” }

That change the value of resp_body inside the map conv.

So my question is a philosophical one:
in which meaning Elixir think about “immutability”?

Thank you in advance for your answers.

1 Like

Hello,

Here is the classic example for immutability rebinding (improperly named immutability, thanks @hauleth ):

iex(1)> a = 1
iex(2)> f = fn -> a end
#Function<45.97283095/0 in :erl_eval.expr/5>
iex(3)> a = 2
iex(4)> f.()

As you said it, it is a new binding. The value of a is not changed, but the name “a” is bound to a new value.

Also, your conv map is not changed, you are creating a new map:

iex(1)> conv = %{a: 1, resp_body: "Hello"}
%{a: 1, resp_body: "Hello"}
iex(2)> %{ conv | resp_body: "Bears, Lions, Tigers" }
%{a: 1, resp_body: "Bears, Lions, Tigers"}
iex(3)> conv
%{a: 1, resp_body: "Hello"}
5 Likes

Those 2 are different a’s … It’s almost as same as you would write:

a1 = 1
a2 = 2

The only difference is that originally first value is lost and second example value is kept in other variable (a1).

This syntax creates a new map which origin is conv and it’s response_body is changed to “Bears, Lions, Tigers”.

1 Like