Implementing String.Chars

Hi, I’m new to learn Elixir. Not my first functional language, but just trying to get used to the language quirks. I’m trying to implement the String.Chars protocol for a custom data type.

I’m implementing a Solitaire solver in Elixir to learn. I’ve got some basic logic implemented here:

When I run the above program, I get “Elixir.Three of Spades” not just “Three of Spades”. What am I missing here?

Hello and welcome to the forum,

Module names are Atom under the hood, and Elixir prefix those with Elixir…

For example.

iex> to_string Jason
"Elixir.Jason"
iex> to_string Enum 
"Elixir.Enum"

Nvm, I’ve see my error now. I’m returning atoms from my show_rank function instead of strings.

Within elixir, module names are just atoms (as you have discovered). In order to play nicely on the BEAM with other languages, module names are actually all prefixed with Elixir. so your module name is actually :Elixir.Card (as you’ve also discovered). If you call Kernel.to_string/1 on a module name your’ll get the full name which is not often what you want.

If you call Kernel.inspect/1 you’ll get Card. Thats the inspect protocol at work.

I appreciate this is a bit orthogonal to your original issue but it might help make another part of Elixir clearer to you later on.

Another comment if you’ll permit, its probably more idiomatic to pattern match on function heads than to use a case expression. For example:

def show_suit(0), do: "Spades"
  def show_suit(1), do: "Hearts"
  def show_suit(2), do: "Clubs"
  def show_suit(3), do: "Diamonds"
  def show_suit(n), do: raise(ArgumentError, "unknown suit: #{inspect suit}")
2 Likes

Why should I prefer matching on function heads?
The case statement is more to the point, I don’t have to repeatedly type in the function name.

They’ll compile to the same bytecode anyway and some consider it bad style to have a function which body is only a single case

Personally I’d do it like this: