Infrastructure for a multi-tenancy Phoenix LiveView app

Hi!

I’m new here, happy to be part of the elixir community!

I have a few questions regarding infrastructure for a multi-tenancy Phoenix LiveView app.

But first here some context:

We’re building a ERP for a niche industry of 100+ customers, each customer can have from 5 to 100+ employees. Each customer will have a subdomain (e.g. {tenantName}.erpproject.com) and database (or schema).
It needs to be highly available and scalable, hence the choice of going with Elixir/Phoenix (even though I’m the only tech guy at the moment and I only started to learn Elixir, Phoenix and LiveView a few month ago, but I’m loving it btw).
I’m a full-stack developer, but mostly went frontend (vue, flutter, etc.) in the last few years. Not really an expert at cloud architecture or devops.

• what is the benefit of running a Phoenix release on a DO (Digital Ocean) app vs running the server with mix on a droplet? I understand the that a release is precompile into a single unit and the benefit of it. But would running the server on a DO droplet would give me more control (in case of issues, debugging, etc.)?
  • I’m currently building the multi tenancy using triplex (it seems is has not been updated for quite a long time but so far so good on local). Running into a lot of issues currently to set it up on DO. But it makes me wonder if it would actually not be better to just assemble multiple releases instead and have a DO app per tenant. I’m having a hard time identifying the pro and cons with those 2 solutions beside the cost of having to pay a DO managed database and an DO app.
  • Actually I went with DO because I had some past experience with it, but given the context of the project, would another cloud solution be more appropriate? I had a look at fly.io and Gigalixir and I had an easier time setting up a dummy phoenix app with auth module on DO.
3 Likes