Inspect the environment of a Process

What would be the correct approach to inspect the current environment of a Process? For example, if I would have a simple Process defined as below:

defmodule Stack do
  def loop(state, ctr) do
    receive do
      {_from, :push, value} ->
        loop([value | state], ctr + 1)

{from, :pop} ->
        [h | t] = state
        send(from, {:reply, h})
        loop(t, ctr)
    end

loop(state)
  end
end

Here the environment consists of two variables (parameters of the loop function) at any point during execution. How could I easily get a list of such variables and their associated value as such:

state: value
ctr: value

I’m new to Elixir. Thanks in advance!

Hi @Astarno,
In your example, you could add a receive clause to return the state:

defmodule Stack do
  def loop(state, ctr) do
    receive do
      {_from, :push, value} ->
        loop([value | state], ctr + 1)

{from, :pop} ->
        [h | t] = state
        send(from, {:reply, h})
        loop(t, ctr)

{from, :inspect} ->
        send(from, {state, ctr})
        loop(state, ctr)
    end
  end
end

Now you can send a message like {self(), :inspect} and receive the state as a message:

iex(1)> pid = spawn(Stack, :loop, [[], 0])
#PID<0.127.0>
iex(2)> send(pid, {self, :inspect})
{#PID<0.105.0>, :inspect}
iex(3)> flush
{[], 0}
:ok
iex(4)> send(pid, {self, :push, "foo"})
{#PID<0.105.0>, :push, "foo"}
iex(5)> flush
iex(6)> send(pid, {self, :inspect})
{#PID<0.105.0>, :inspect}
iex(7)> flush
{["foo"], 1}
2 Likes

I’m trying to do this without altering any code inside of the Process. Would you have an approach for that as well?

When implementing something similar with a GenServer one can use :sys.get_state(pid) for debugging, but in this case I don’t see a way without modifying the code. In your example the state is the arguments of the recursive call to loop, so one needs to tap into the function to inspect the state.

What’s your use case?

3 Likes