Introducing Toolbelt, your useful little utility companion

Hi there, this is my first post :grin:

I wanted to let you all know of a new library I am creating, called toolbelt. You can find the source here and the docs here.

Toolbelt extends native Elixir modules with extra functionality. A simple use Toolbelt will make those extra functions accessible, while you can still use everything just as usual. Some of the functions it provides: Keyword.is_keyword, Keyword.is_keyword_element, Map.map_deep, Map.map_keys, Map.map_values, Enum.andmap, Enum.ormap, Enum.first, Enum.last, …

The basic aim of this library is to extend the standard Elixir library with some less common but still highly useful functions. The best example is an implementation of Map.map_deep, which allows you to transform all pairs in an arbitrarily-nested map.

It would be really great if you could help with this library, as I am fairly new to Elixir and don’t (yet) know all of the standard ways of doing things. Above that, I might forget of a few useful functions.

There’s still a lot of work on it so if you have any comments or feedback, please let me know.

Regards,
Sam

6 Likes

Looks cool, your extension style is interesting. :wink:

Few notes:

andmap(enum, callback)
Performs a classical ormap on the given enumerable

s/ormap/andmap/

first(enum)
Takes the first element from the enumerable

There is no ‘first’ element in some enumerables, maybe this should be called pop to pop one off (since enumerables may not have a specified order, like a large map). Or perhaps called one or so?

ormap(enum, callback)
Performs a classical ormap on the given enumerable

Really should document what a classical ormap is, with examples, same with the andmap. :slight_smile:

rest(enum)
Takes the first element from the enumerable