Introducing Travel Massive — a community platform built with Phoenix LiveView

Hey folks,

We built a community platform for Travel Massive with Phoenix LiveView. This is my first project with Phoenix LiveView, and the first time I’ve programmed in Elixir.

Here’s a few notable features:

Tech details

• Currently running LiveView 0.17.11
  • We use a combination of LiveView Components and Surface UI with Tailwind CSS
  • Alpinejs 3 for a few user interactions (e.g. upvote), and Tippy for popups
  • We’re hosted on Gigalixir and Cloudinary (images)
  • esbuild only… no npm required :tada:

Special thanks

A big thanks to @mplatts and @nhoban who developed our initial MVP and got us to launch last year, and @daamsie who helped with a lot of UX and other features. Also a thanks to elixirforum as I found a lot of helpful answers here while learning Elixir :smiley:

Migrating from Drupal to Phoenix LiveView

I originally created the Travel Massive community in 2014 and built it with Drupal 7 (and open-sourced the project). Migrating a live community of ~50,000 members from Drupal to Phoenix LiveView was a unique challenge. To solve this, we built built a private REST endpoint in Drupal to provide structured data to our Elixir importer. This method also gave us the benefit of developing the platform with real membership data.

What’s next?

We launched in September 2021 and I’ve spent the past year adding features, fixing bugs, and growing and building our community. The project has slowly matured, but I’m still thinking about new features to build:

• Community points to reward participation
  • Travel map (people can share places they are visiting)
  • Automated newsletters (we currently curate a weekly newsletter)

Hopefully this post can help others who are thinking about building community platforms with Phoenix LiveView, and can help showcase what can be done! :slight_smile:

47 Likes

Is the new platform open source as well?

3 Likes