Is an Elixir GenServer so different from an Object of a Class?

I am just learning Elixir. The purpose is to build a server API to interact between clients and a separate database server. I am coming from C#/C++.

I have now been reading a variety of tutorials on GenServer, as that seems to be the best point to start. It has been the first thing I’ve read about that truly makes sense in that it explains how to do truly practical tasks.

If I am understanding correctly, something that says use GenServer becomes not much different once started than an object of a class. The main differences I see is are:

• All internal variables must be stored within state, typically as %{} so you can store numerous data points as key-value.
  • Thus the only mutable variable inside the GenServer is state (but this is really not any big difference as you can store as many variables of any type as you like within that).
  • Every time one of the major functions of a GenServer type process is called (start_link, cast, call), this just triggers the callback to reference state again and allow you to mutate it or run other functions.
  • GenServer as a Behavior basically acts as a standard basic Elixir version of a Class you can derive from to accomplish things needing internal state maintained.

Am I wrong? It seems once you start understanding it, it’s just a different way of accomplishing the same thing.

I guess this design of storing all functions inside state and just having very few simple functions to start a process helps keep it more generic or maybe contributes to things being better able to regenerate itself? Plus the Supervisor system to let each run more autonomously?

It also seems like pid is the same as having an object reference. As I understand it every process (ie. object) gets a pid by which it can be referenced and that is how the system tracks these things. You can also give them names which have to be unique, again like objects.