Is Elixir and it's ecosystem suitable for general purpose use as a Go replacement?

Hey all! I’m new to Elixir and I absolutely love what I’ve seen so far. I’ve been looking for a functional programming language replacement for Go for a while and I’d like to get more opinions from people who’ve been using Elixir out in the wild.

My use cases are:

• CLI apps
  • General purpose scripting for tasks like data processing, scraping etc.
  • REST APIs

I’ve read some post/articles that mentioned some pain points regarding deployment and building executables, however most of these posts are several years old and it looks like there are new tools that help alleviate these issues.

I’d love to hear your opinions.

Scripting and REST APIs are no problem. Also CLI apps are possible (escript). But the target system needs to have Elixir installed. But I don’t think that is such a big problem. People these days don’t hesitate to install ruby just to use Jekyll.

Not really. Go, C, Rust, and even Python are much better for that for simple reason - you do not need whole VM to run such tool (and Python is commonly available OotB on many platforms). Additionally startup times in BEAM aren’t great, which mean that for short-living CLI tools it makes little sense, as startup is often main reason for “slowness” of such tools.

Again, not really, again, because of the slow startup.

If these tasks will be ran as a long running processes, then probably yes. There are tools for Elixir that make writing such applications much simpler and easier than in some other languages.

Everywhere where you will need long-running and IO-heavy workload that can be split into set small, independent, and isolated set of tasks (and REST API is perfect example of that) then Erlang/Elixir will be great choice.