Is Elixir more understandable and easy to learn than Python?

Hello everyone!
I’m interested in your opinion, I read that Elixir is more understandable and easy to learn compared to Python, is it really true? I’m interested because I’m a beginner, is Elixir suitable for me or is it more for professionals?
I would be grateful for your thoughts!

1 Like

Hi @Ann, welcome :wave:

This question doesn’t have an answer, in my opinion :upside_down_face:. It’s subjective. I wouldn’t say that Elixir is “more understandable and easy to learn” than Python, no. I wouldn’t say it’s “for professionals” either, though. At the beginning of your programming journey, there are many great choices.

Elixir lends itself to a nice beginner experience in my opinion, and you will be able to avoid learning concepts that are taught in most intro to programming courses (mutable data structures, object-oriented programming) but that are not really necessary to get going.

On the other hand, Python takes the crown when it comes to being everywhere. It’s taught in most universities and colleges, it’s used in most fields, and it has a virtually-infinite amount of resources to learn from.

So, my two cents: don’t feel like you couldn’t learn Elixir, but at the same time, don’t think it will be significantly easier than learning Python is this is the first programming language you’re going to learn.

In any case, happy learning.

18 Likes

Do you know what you might want to use either of those for? I think it depends on that.

1 Like

if you can correctly tell me what the result of the last line is in python, then yes, python might be easier to understand:

def f(list = []):
  return list

def g(list):
  list.append('foo')

result = f()
g(result)
f()
16 Likes

On this note, if you are willing to focus on front end, elm provides a similar focused learning experience, where you don’t have to learn lots of irrelevant concepts.

2 Likes