Is Elixir / Phoenix ready for production?

Hi,

I started learning Elixir 2 months ago by reading Programming Elixir 1.3. I want to learn Elixir not to get a job but to build my first web app from scratch.
This is the stack I consider (first iteration) :

• Front-End : Vue JS;
  • Data Base : PostgreSQL;
  • Back-End : Elixir and Phoenix.

Those are the main functionalities :

1 - Authentications and Authorizations (Admins, Moderators, Normal users, Premium users);
2 - Publish, Edit and Delete posts ;
3 - Search Box for posts and profils + filters ;
4 - Ranking and Rating of Profils ;
5 - Download and Upload Files ;
6 - Reply to the posts (messages + attached documents) ;
7 - Classify posts into categories and by targeted localisation (Country / City).

Do you know what are the ressources (books, online videos) that can help me learn how to build this web app ?
I mean what should I do next after learning Elixir syntax and how ?
Should I build this using phoenix as a back-end ? or maybe concurrency and distrubuted systems technologies are not required for this web app ?
Because I have read in many posts how much learning OTP is needed. I’m afraid to add complexity, especially that my friends told me this would be possible using Django and that in long-term it will be easy to find many developpers with python knowledge and less with Elixir and OTP skills.

1 Like

@younes-alouani I think it’s absolutely ready.When I started learning Elixir/Phoenix I was thinking the same.The best way is to code something and try it for yourself.I am running newsofworld.org . It’s a horribly coded app but it works.I had never launched a site before until now.And now i have started delving into Erlang.

2 Likes

I don’t hear about many people taking the path from Elixir to Erlang. How’s that going for you? (seriously. would be interested in your impressions)

2 Likes