Is the PragProg Absinthe book still relevant?

I’m starting my journey with GraphQL, and I own a book from Pragmatic Programmers called Craft GraphQL APIs in Elixir with Absinthe. However this book dates from March of 2018 so it’s more than 5 years old. I’m wondering if I’m wasting my time going through this book; seems like Absinthe has had tons of commits since that time so there may be better resources out there?

Any views? Is the book still the best place to start? I’m kind of a total beginner on GraphQL though I know the principles and I know Postgres/SQL/relational theory very well.

I suspect we could summon @benwilson512 here but I suspect it’s still relevant.

I’m using Absinthe in a project for about that long (sic!) and we barely ever had to touch the existing resolvers or subscriptions as they continue to work. Maybe there are some new conventions in use, but I don’t remember any breaking major breaking changes since, with one exception of something related to how you hook them up to PubSub, but that was something minor.

1 Like

Hey!

Short answer: yes. Particularly as a total beginner.

Longer answer: While Absinthe has had a lot of commits since the book it is still a 1.X version, there have been no backwards incompatible changes introduced. The GraphQL spec itself hasn’t introduced any backwards incompatible changes, and while the libraries around Absinthe like Phoenix and Ecto have added major features (like live view) the bits used by Absinthe haven’t changed. It’s honestly a testament to the stability and foresight of the community.

The big unknown: Will the book’s dependencies run on a modern machine? The code that ships with the book is as you note pretty old at this point and it asks you to run a pretty old version of erlang and elixir. I don’t know of that’s going to work on say a modern M1 macbook.

I’ll give it a whirl this weekend, I haven’t tried to get it up and running in a long time.

6 Likes